Community News Corporation | Byron, MN

Latest Dodge Center, MN, weather
weather sponsored by

Advanced Search

• Other Legal Notices
• Public Notices
• Minutes
• Legals
• Foreclosures
• Assumed Names
Community Links
Contact Us

home : legals : other legal notices May 24, 2016

1/8/2013 4:02:00 PM
BYRON INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #531 BYRON, MINNESOTA SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES Organizational Meeting Monday, January 7, 2012-5:15 p.m.




Organizational Meeting

Monday, January 7, 2012-5:15 p.m.

• Site: Byron High School Board Room

• Members present: Matt Prigge, Paul Daley, Faith Hollasch, Chris Douglas, Peggy Harris, Peggy Morris, Tessa Olive. Superintendent Jeffrey S. Elstad was present

• Treasurer Faith Hollash administered the School Board Member Oath of Office to re-elected and newly elected board members, Matt Prigge, Chris Douglas, Peggy Morris and Tessa Olive.

• Approve the organizational meeting agenda

• Matt Prigge was elected School Board Chair

• Chris Douglas was elected School Board Vice-Chair

• Paul Daley was elected School Board Treasurer

• Faith Hollasch was elected School Board Clerk

• Appointed Peggy Morris, Peggy Harris and Tessa Olive as School Board Directors

• Set board member salary at $1,000 per year, board chair receives additional $500, negotiators will receive additional $500

• Designated the Byron Review as the official newspaper

• Designated the bulletin board by the District Office at Byron High School as the official posting place for school board meeting notices, but as a courtesy, the school district will also post at the middle school, elementary school, community education center, on the district website, high school multipurpose room, Byron City Hall, Byron Market Place and the Byron Review.

• Designated Ratwik, Roszak & Maloney, P.A. as legal counsel for the school district with the option to seek advice outside of the area in times of litigation

• Designated the First Security Bank as the primary depository for the school district checking account and Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund as the primary depository for investments

• Approved authority to invest funds and wire funds by the school district administrative office staff and Superintendent

• Granted authority to the superintendent to issue checks between board meetings to pay bills so as to be eligible for discounts, deadlines, etc. with payment of same to be approved by the school board at the next meeting at which payments of claims is approved

• Authorized the use of facsimile signature on payroll and voucher checks in accordance with the provisions of M.S. 47.41 and 47.42

• Delegated statutory duties of the treasurer to the school district business manager and Superintendent to deposit funds of the district in the official depository and preparation of monthly treasurer's report

• Delegated statutory duties of clerk to the administrative staff to keep the book of minutes of all district school board meetings and preparation of reports that shall include the condition and value of school district property, receipts and disbursements in detail and such other financial matters as may be called for by the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Education, and the names and post office addresses of all directors and such other items of information as may be called for by the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Education.

• Appointed Tessa Olive as the Zumbro Education District Representative

• Appointed Peggy Harris as the alternate ZED representative

• Appointed Faith Hollasch as the representative for Schools for Equity in Education

• Appointed Chris Douglas as the Legislative Liaison

• Appointed Faith Hollasch as the representative for Early Childhood Family Education

• Appointed Matt Prigge as City Council representative

• Appointed Chris Douglas as Minnesota State High School League Representative

• Appointed Peggy Harris as representative for the Technology Committee

• Appointed Faith Hollasch to the Byron Community Education Advisory Council

• Appointed Peggy Harris, Matt Prigge and Chris Douglas to the School Board Negotiation Committee

• Appointed Peggy Harris, Matt Prigge and Chris Douglas to the Meet and Confer Committee

• Appointed Peggy Morris, Paul Daley and Faith Hollasch to the School Board Finance Committee

• Adjourned meeting at 5:38 p.m.

A complete copy of school board minutes is available at 3c

Claremont Service

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Field Crest
Safeway Agency
Scanlon, Nietz, Murch
Dodge Center Chiropractic
Community News Corp • Byron Review, 507.775.6180,
Star Herald, 507.374.6531,

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved