Community News Corporation | Byron, MN

Latest Dodge Center, MN, weather
weather sponsored by

Advanced Search

Community Links
Contact Us

home : sports : sports May 29, 2016

12/17/2012 4:10:00 PM
Byron wrestling takes home coveted Golden Shoe award
Ryan Thompson hangs on as he is flipped over by LARP's Brady Borkowski. Thompson went on to win by pin.
+ click to enlarge
Ryan Thompson hangs on as he is flipped over by LARP's Brady Borkowski. Thompson went on to win by pin.

By Ryan Radke

The Byron Wrestling Team is now 7-2 after a busy three days. The Bears first headed to LaCresent for a Triangular with them and Kenyon Wanimingo. The Bears beat Kenyon Wanamingo to win the coveted traveling Golden Shoe award that hasn't been won by the Bears in nine years. The wrestlers took care of business after that, beating LaCresent 52 to 15.

Winning the Hammer for Varsity was Brian Bertram and for JV Matt Peterson. The Bears then went 3-0 at the Dave Scharberg Memorial Tournament, which was held in Byron, beating three very tough teams and winning the tournament for the first time in six years. Going 3-0 on the day for the Bears was Ben Adamson, Ryan Thompson, Brett Bradford, and Brian Bertram.

"Overall I"m happy with the past three days. I'm not completely satisfied with how we wrestled but we beat three Lean and Mean teams in three days and beat a tough Dover Eyota team so I'm very proud of the kids for their effort. The Varsity and JV kids work so hard every day and we are out conditioning teams but we have some things to work on. We also have to get our kids healthy and work towards the end of the season."

Byron 52, La Crescent 15 - Byron 30, Kenyon-Wanamingo 26

106: Jared Clawiter (KW) maj. dec. Ben Adamson 10-12

113: Dylan Craig (KW) maj. dec. Nathaniel Douglas 9-0

120: Ted Androli (KW) pinned Isaac Marolt 3:15

126: Alex Bertram (B) dec. Bradley Kish 6-4

132: Nate Peterson (B) dec. Wayne Henslin 4-2

138: Jace Clawiter (KW) dec. Jake Bieber 6-0

145: Brett Bradford (B) pinned Luke Rechtzigel 1:24

152: Trent Brossard (KW) dec. Ryan Thompson 7-2

160: Tanner Long (B) pinned Nick Bauer 2:29

170: Brian Bertram (B) dec. Drew Sathrum 6-3

182: Alex Jackson (KW) won by forfeit

195: Nick Douglas (B) dec. Bailey Paquin 2-1

220: Eli Johnson (B) dec. Austin Jackson 8-6

285: Jacob Rabe (B) dec. Nick Langer 4-0

Round 1: Byron 43 LARP 30, WEM/JWP 45 Dover Eyota 25

Round 2: LARP 48 Dover Eyota 29, Byron 34 WEM/JWP 33

Round 3: WEM/JWP 47 LARP 30, Byron 45 Dover Eyota 27

Place: 1st: Byron, 2nd: WEM/JWP, 3rd: LARP, 4th: Dover Eyota

Claremont Service

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Field Crest
Safeway Agency
Scanlon, Nietz, Murch
Dodge Center Chiropractic
Community News Corp • Byron Review, 507.775.6180,
Star Herald, 507.374.6531,

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved